Sleepers Awake (BWV645) by Johann Sebastian Bach (Guitar Tab)

Sleepers Awake (BWV645) by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
BWV 645 – 650: Schübler Chorale Preludes.

johann sebastian bach
Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity.

Schübler Chorales is a name commonly used for a collection of six chorale preludes by Johann Sebastian Bach (BWV 645–650). They were engraved and published in the late 1740s by Johann Georg Schübler, from whom they derive their nickname. The collection is originally entitled Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (“Wake, Awake for Night is Passing“). Uniquely for Bach’s sets of organ works, five out of six chorales in this collection are transcriptions from his cantatas. BWV 645 is transcribe from: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 140, movement 4 (tenor chorale). The pieces are composed for a two manual organ with obligatory pedal in E♭ Major. Bach’s abilities as an organist were highly respected throughout Europe during his lifetime.

Sleepers Awake
4/4 Time Signature. Key of E. 6 pages. 56 bars. Arranged by K. Minami.

Check out an Easier version and David Russell’s version.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top